2026-02-17 15:55 UTC
@atpfm@mastodon.social @marcoarment@mastodon.social @siracusa@mastodon.social @caseyliss@mastodon.social You can get back the old Save As model.
I use hybrid of auto save and Save As so I have the benefits of auto saving with the mental model of using Save As.
In Desktop & Dock disable “Close windows when quitting an application”
In Keyboard > Keyboard Shortcuts create an entry under All Applications for Save As… with Command Shift S (to make the ellipse you must type option-semicolon)
Replies (1)
-
@jakob41@mastodon.social 2026-02-27 12:57
@ridogi@mastodon.social @atpfm@mastodon.social @marcoarment@mastodon.social @siracusa@mastodon.social @caseyliss@mastodon.social This unfortunately does not even work reliably in Apple’s own apps. I have the same setup as @ridogi@mastodon.social. Try the following in TextEdit and Pages: 1. Create a new document, add content, save it 2. Quit the app 3. Reopen, edit, do not save 4. Quit again 5. Open Pages/TextEdit (autosaved version appears) 6. Close document and choose “Revert Changes” iWork persists the autosaved version instead of reverting it. TextEdit/Pixelmator works as expected